Rant and Rave: Laura Mercier Foundation Primer

In my summer must have’s post I told you guys I had review coming up for a product I recently started testing.

Well, here’s the review!

Today I’m going to be reviewing the ‘Laura Mercier Oil Free Foundation Primer’. If you read through the post, I’ll also be recommending better alternatives both High end and Low and I’ll be getting pretty in depth with this product as well.

This lightweight, water-based primer creates a smooth, invisible layer that acts as a buffer between the skin and makeup. Specialized for oily, sensitive, and acne-prone skin types, its high water content soothes surface dehydration around active blemishes.

INGREDIENTS:

Water (Aqua), Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Stearic Acid, Isodecyl Isononanoate, Glycerin, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, C20-22 Alkyl Phosphate, C22-20 Alcohols, Squalane, Butylene Glycol, Cetyl Esters, Phenoxyethanol, Boron Nitride, Silica, Cetearyl Alcohol, Sodium Hydroxide, Allantoin Tocopherol Acetate, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Hamaelis Viginiana (Witch Hazel) Extract, Cucumis sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Cymbopogon Schoenanthus Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Retinyl Palmitate, Dimethicone, Polyamino Sugar Condesate, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Chlorphensin, Benzoic Acid, Polysorbate 60, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Saccharomyces/Xylium Black Tea Ferment, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Potassium Sorbate, Green 5 (CI 61570), Yellow 5 (CI 19140).

PACKAGING:

Thia product comes in sleek grey, semi opaque a squeeze tube. The tube is no different to the silk creme foundation or the tinted moisturizer and you get 1.5 ounces worth of product. I do like the packaging and think it looks very sleek, and professional. It looks high quality aswell. It looks Laura Mercier. The brand has a certain style that is hard to forget and very simple, yet elegant and classy. The style of this brands packaging no doubt looks like one of a ‘high quality’ brand.

TEXTURE:

The texture of this primer is unlike others I have tried, it looks as feels like a thin moisturizer or lotion. It has a decently smooth texture over all.

On the skin it feels like a moisturizer as well, very light-weight. I do however, feel it is a bit greasy on the skin. (And I have dry skin)

ON THE SKIN:

On the skin it looks a bit greasy, but is clearly very moisturizing. After a long day, my skin isn’t dry and I actually feel like it improved the dry skin under my eyes. Under my makeup, it still looked a  bit sticky and greasy. Not ideal for someone with oily skin, and honestly didn’t make my foundation apply smoother at all, it didn’t cover pores and texture uneven-ness very well either. Sadly, I noticed that applying my foundation without primer, was smoother and more even then when I did apply this primer! NOT GOOD. I did find the slightest green hint to the primer though, so it was nice as it minimized any redness.

WEAR TIME:

I didn’t feel like it helped much on the lasting of my makeup very much, and I didn’t notice a huge difference in wear time when I wore this primer as apposed to not wearing any primer. It lasted maybe 5 hours, no more time then my makeup would last without this primer. The Laura Mercier Foundation Primer didn’t compare to other primers I have tried that make my makeup last up to 12 hours!

OVER-ALL THOUGHTS:

I don’t really feel like this primer is worth the price tag (30 dollars). I have tried many other primers that work much better then this for a fraction of the cost. Over all not worth trying, I think it gets so much hype because of the name attached to it. Laura Mercier has some great products, but this one isn’t one of them. One noteable thing I should add is that this primer doesn’t have silicone and is not a gelly consistancy, which some may be excited to hear.

I don’t feel it lives up to many of the claims made for this primer. It does not give a smooth finish nor do I recommend this or oily or sensitive skin. I do think that this product is moisturizing, so the claims aren’t complete garbage.

I have heard more bad reviews then good, and Makeupally only gave this 3 stars.

I have also heard of many people breaking out because of this primer, but the ingredients themselves are more gentle and then most primers.

RECOMMENDED ALTERNATIVES:

This depends on what you want in a primer, but if you want what this primer claims, and a long wear time, I recommend ‘TooFaced Primed and Poreless’ primer. This product is also 30 dollars, but well worth it. It does what this primer claims to do, plush makes my makeup last up to 10 hours.

If your looking for a cheaper alternative that also does what this primer claims (smooths skin and fills pores) try out the ‘Loreal Magic Perfecting Base’ This primer is around 10 dollars and is really nice at smoothing and filling pores and lines. It is a fluffy consistency, which is really nice, and lasts around 8 hours.

RANT OR RAVE?

  • PRODUCT : 2/5
  • TEXTURE : 3/5
  • LONGEVITY : 2/5
  • APPLICATION : 4/5
  • PACKAGING 5/5
  • PIGMENTATION: 0/0

Rant or Rave? Rant

Rant- Basically, if a product is a ‘rant’ I do not recommend other to try.

Rave- If a product is a ‘Rave’ I do recommend others to try this product.

This entry was published on June 5, 2011 at 1:03 am. It’s filed under Product Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

